Recipientparent.com

An educational resource for those interested in becoming a recipient parent via surrogacy.

How do they know your a surrogate mom? I thought I would share my recent experience with this.

How do they know your a surrogate? This question comes up on this and other boards a lot. I thought I would share my recent experience with this. My husband Todd and I just had our 4th child on Monday. We were sent to the hospital by our physician and while our nurse was getting us set up she said to me “Your caring a surrogate pregnancy right”? My husband abruptly said “No this our baby”. The nurse apologized and was clearly embarrassed by assuming this. The three pregnancies I carried before I had my own child were all surrogate pregnancies. The fact I had been surrogate was the talk of my hospital stay. There wasn’t a single person who tended to us that wasn’t aware I had How do they know your a surrogate? This question comes up on this and other boards a lot. I thought I would share my recent experience with this.

My husband Todd and I just had our 4th child on Monday. We were sent to the hospital by our physician and while our nurse was getting us set up she said to me “Your caring a surrogate pregnancy right”? My husband abruptly said “No this our baby”. The nurse apologized and was clearly embarrassed by assuming this. The three pregnancies I carried before I had my own child were all surrogate pregnancies. The fact I had been surrogate was the talk of my hospital stay. There wasn’t a single person who tended to us that wasn’t aware I had been a surrogate and was asking us about it. Of course I had no problem sharing my experiences as a surrogate to those who inquired about it. How did the hospital know I was a surrogate previously? Its in my medical records. That is how the insurance companies know your a surrogate as well. The fact I had been a surrogate also came up again while I was filling out the paper work for my daughter birth certificate. I assumed that since I live in a parental establishment state (AKA POB State) the fact I had been a surrogate was sealed and private.( Lawyers also tell you this ) This is not the case. So when I filled out my birth certificate paper work I put I had 3 other living children. (The number of other children my husband I have together) Vital records came back and told me I had 6 other living children (which is the case if you count the 3 children I carried as a surrogate mom) and forced us to change it on the birth certificate paperwork. We also put the date of birth our son was born as my last pregnancy.

This was something else we were forced to change to the date of birth of the last child I carried as a surrogate mom. Vital records keeps track of number of children you give birth to regardless of it being a surrogacy or not and those children’s date of birth. It was explained to me that this is part of a medical history they keep on file. The recipient parent information was private but the fact I had been a surrogate mother 3 times previously wasn’t private at all. a surrogate and was asking us about it. Of course I had no problem sharing my experiences as a surrogate to those who inquired about it. How did the hospital know I was a surrogate previously? Its in my medical records. That is how the insurance companies know your a surrogate as well.

The fact I had been a surrogate also came up again while I was filling out the paper work for my daughter birth certificate. I assumed that since I live in a parental establishment state (AKA POB State) the fact I had been a surrogate was sealed and private.( Lawyers also tell you this ) This is not the case. So when I filled out my birth certificate paper work I put I had 3 other living children. (The number of other children my husband I have together) Vital records came back and told me I had 6 other living children (which is the case if you count the 3 children I carried as a surrogate mom) and forced us to change it on the birth certificate paperwork. We also put the date of birth our son was born as my last pregnancy. This was something else we were forced to change to the date of birth of the last child I carried as a surrogate mom.

Vital records keeps track of number of children you give birth to regardless of it being a surrogacy or not and those children’s date of birth. It was explained to me that this is part of a medical history they keep on file. The recipient parent information was private but the fact I had been a surrogate mother 3 times previously wasn’t private at all.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

